May 27, 2022


Discover your best

Fifteen MIT faculty honored as “Committed to Caring” for 2021-23 | MIT News

In a ordinary academic 12 months at MIT, the advice and mentoring made available by faculty advisors to their graduate students is of paramount great importance. This has only turn out to be far more correct during the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, as the complete planet was thrust into uncertainty. 

Pretty out of the blue, actions that were being after commonplace have been now shrouded in concern people today ended up confined to their residences, not able to see family members and good friends and academic daily life at MIT was entirely disrupted right away. A lot of graduate pupils ended up still left not sure of what would take place to their coursework and exploration, and caring mentors grew to become even a lot more of a lifeline.

Through the pandemic, many faculty associates have stepped up to help and information their graduate students in special and impactful ways, by way of initiatives these types of as championing diversity, fairness, and inclusion plans within just their departments respecting students’ psychological wellbeing issues and finding suitable approaches to accommodate them and fostering neighborhood in their advising groups and departments.

By a method pushed by graduate pupil involvement, from the submission of nomination letters to the assortment of honorees, the Dedicated to Caring (C2C) application at MIT acknowledges school customers that go higher than and beyond in their mentorship of graduate pupils. In gentle of their excellent initiatives, 15 MIT college members have been recognized by the C2C software for the 2021-23 cycle, becoming a member of the ranks of 60 prior C2C honorees.

The adhering to school associates are the 2021-23 Dedicated to Caring honorees:

  • Angelika Amon, Section of Biology (posthumously)
  • Athulya Aravind, Department of Linguistics
  • Mariana Arcaya, Section of Urban Studies and Scheduling
  • David Autor, Division of Economics
  • Michael Birnbaum, Section of Organic Engineering
  • Irmgard Bischofberger, Office of Mechanical Engineering
  • devin michelle bunten, Department of City Scientific studies and Preparing
  • Esther Duflo, Division of Economics
  • Jeffrey Grossman, Department of Resources Science and Engineering
  • Janelle Knox-Hayes, Office of Urban Scientific studies and Arranging
  • Karthish Manthiram, Department of Chemical Engineering 
  • Miho Mazereeuw, Division of Architecture
  • Kerstin Perez, Division of Physics
  • Arvind Satyanarayan, Department of Electrical Engineering and Personal computer Science
  • Ben Schneider, Office of Political Science

Watchful thing to consider of the nominees

Every single other yr considering that the C2C plan was started in 2014, the Office of Graduate Education and learning solicits nominations from graduate pupils. Every nomination letter calls attention to a certain faculty member for their exceptional mentorship capabilities and practices. A variety committee, created up of graduate learners, staff members users, and graduate directors, deliberates and selects the school users who have demonstrated a genuine motivation to the success and well-currently being of their graduate students.

This yr, the range criteria integrated the extent of the faculty members’ mentorship and caring actions their perseverance to making sure students’ educational and experienced success and their willingness to create their mentorship design and how they can greatest aid learners. Of unique notice to the variety committee was how school members responded to the Covid-19 disaster and altered their mentorship kinds to most effective assist college students all over this seeking time. Also, amplified focus was paid to college members’ efforts to make significant strides towards advancing variety in their departments and throughout the Institute. 

This year’s assortment committee bundled graduate pupils Ellie Immerman (2019-21 C2C graduate local community fellow Method in Science, Technology, and Culture) Daniel Korsun (2021-22 C2C graduate group fellow Section of Nuclear Science and Engineering) Sidhant Pai (Section of Civil and Environmental Engineering) Neha Sunil (Division of Mechanical Engineering) Paula do Vale Pereira (Division of Aeronautics and Astronautics) and Raspberry Simpson (Office of Nuclear Science and Engineering). These pupils had been joined on the committee by Assistant Dean for Graduate Schooling Gaurav Jashnani (Workplace of Graduate Education and learning), Academic Administrator Jennifer Weisman (Department of Chemistry), Director of Unique Jobs Rachel Beingessner (Business of the Affiliate Provost), and Affiliate Dean for Graduate Education and learning Suraiya Baluch (Place of work of Graduate Education).

Baluch, the chair of the collection committee, notes, “what spoke to me all through this approach was the fantastic lengths that faculty went to assistance their college students during the pandemic, as well as how significant and impactful these efforts had been to their students. These school associates have definitely designed MIT a supportive finding out natural environment for their pupils.”

This year’s honorees have demonstrated an impassioned motivation to increasing the life of their graduate learners by mentorship. By recognizing the impression that these professors have experienced on their students, the Fully commited to Caring application hopes to reinforce the MIT community’s dedication to fostering a respectful mastering tradition.